The Playlist

The Playlist | Chocolate by The 1975

Why are there so many songs about drugs?

And why are they all catchy and addicting? Are they trying to tell us something?

I have officially finished my second year of university! And now summer starts early with playlist additions to go with it.

When I first heard this song I just thought it was upbeat and fun to dance to…the lyrics sounded like nonsense and the accent completely allowed me to believe that’s what it was.

…Until I decided to write a post about it. I usually look up the lyrics so I can post them with the song, but this:

Yeah, we’re dressed in black from head to toe,
We’ve got guns hidden under our petticoats.
No, we’re never gonna quit it, no, we’re never gonna quit it, no

Really, the last line of the chorus should’ve been a HUGE clue. And then the last lines come around:

Well, I think we better go,
Seriously better go
Said the feds are here you know
Seriously better go, oh, oh

So basically, “Chocolate” is about a drug addiction, sneaking out to take a few hits, and then booking it before the cops catch you.

Chocolate—one of the strangest euphemism for drugs out there.

Make the story even longer with a comment:

