Notable Quoteables | Eleanor & Park

Finished Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor & Park yesterday.

I have got some challenge ahead of me for reviewing this book. But we’ll get to that later.

In the meantime, some of my favourite quotes from the novel!

On music:

There was something about the music on that tape. It felt different. Like, it set her lungs and her stomach on edge. There was something exciting about it, and something nervous. It made Eleanor feel like everything, like the world, wasn’t what she’d thought it was. And that was a good thing. That was the greatest thing.

On Park:

“I don’t even know what it means to be Korean.” […]
“Does it matter?”
“I think so. Because it’s the number one thing people use to identify me.”

He caught her by surprise, and before she could help herself, her heart was breaking for him.

On Eleanor:

Eleanor was right. She never looked nice. She looked like art, and art wasn’t supposed to look nice; it was supposed to make you feel something.

Like she was trying to be pretty and popular. It was the trying part that was so disgusting.

“You look like you,” he said. “You with the volume turned up.”

She never felt like she belonged anywhere, except for when she was lying on her bed, pretending to be somewhere else.

On their relationship:

He couldn’t buy Eleanor a pen. Or a bookmark. He didn’t have bookmarklike feelings for her.

You saved me life, she tried to tell him. Not forever, not for good. Probably just temporarily. But you saved my life, and now I’m yours. The me that’s me right now is yours. Always.

I, no, I need to believe that it isn’t our last chance… Eleanor? Can you hear me? I need you to believe it, too.

“I don’t know what to say.”
“Say something so I don’t feel so stupid.”
“Don’t feel stupid Park.”

“Do you think I even care about that right now?” He held her face in his hands. “Do you think I care about anything but you?”

Everything else:

If you can’t save your own life, is it even worth saving?

You think that holding someone hard will bring them closer. You think that you can hold them so hard that you’ll still feel them, embossed on you, when you pull away.

I’d want to fly. I know it’s not very useful, but … it’s flying.

And finally, the one that will get me every time, the “okay” of this novel:

“Just tonight. Not ever.” 

2 thoughts on “Notable Quoteables | Eleanor & Park

  1. I loved Eleanor and Park! Have you read any other books by Rainbow? I really like Fangirl, too. I can’t wait to read your review, good luck. That book has lots of feelings….

    Like

Make the story even longer with a comment:

