The Playlist

The Playlist | Icarus by Bastille

This week I developed an unhealthy attachment to two things: Park Sheridan and the band, Bastille.

One of my favourite songs by far is “Icarus”:

Things to love about this song:

(1) Greek Mythology

Call me a nerd (who has a mythology test in less than a week), but I’m still amazed by the relevance of Greek myth and tragedy. I remember the story Icarus since I was a little kid, maybe five years old. I don’t know where I heard it, but it has some many applications today, it blows my mind.

Icarus was the son of Daedalus, and they were kept prisoner under the King of Crete, Minos. He kept them in a large tower, and being a king of an island, he had power over both land and sea. Daedalus decided the only escape was through air, and so using the feather mattresses and candle wax in their cell, he created two sets of wings for himself and his son, which are fastened to their arms with wax.

Daedalus warns Icarus that if they fly too close to the water, the feathers will get wet and they will fall. Likewise, if they fly too high up, the sun will melt the wax, the wings will fall off, and they will drown. Icarus, too excited by freedom, forgets this warning, flies too close to the sun, and drowns.

It’s a cautionary tale, reminding us not to reach to high, nor too settle for too low. Very Goldilocks of the Greeks. (Or Greek of Goldilocks?)

(2) The sound

Something about Bastille is haunting, yet energetic. It reminds me of Imagine Dragons and Young the Giant. And a little of Marianas Trench. And I love all those bands so naturally I can’t get enough of this song.

Plus there is a quality to the lead singers voice that makes him sound breathless with each word, like he’s putting all his effort behind the words. And when it hits the high notes? I’m done.

(3) The lyrics

Maybe this is just a rehash of (1), but I just love these lyrics:

Standing on the cliff face
Highest foe you’ll ever grace
It scares me half to death

Look out to the future
But it tells you nothing
So take another breath

(4) It sounds amazing acoustic

Any song that sounds equally good (if not better) acoustic instantly gets its way on to the awesome playlist of awesome.

To prove my point, I leave you with the acoustic version of “Icarus”

Did you like “Icarus” by Bastille? Have music you think should be on The Playlist? Leave a comment below!

One thought on “The Playlist | Icarus by Bastille

Make the story even longer with a comment:

