Books · In Medias Res (IMR)

IMR | Ender in Exile – JACKPOT!

In Medias Res (IMR) –  Latin for “in the midst of things”

I’m thinking about making different kinds of posts (which will be listed in the “About” page) for the blog. One of them is IMR or In Medias Res…ideas or thoughts that I have while I read a book, but haven’t finished yet.

ender in exileSo my first IMR is about the interquel (what an awesome word!) to the Ender’s Game, Ender in Exile. And I have one word: JACKPOT!

Ender in Exile complements Ender’s Game really well. Want to know what happened immediately after he won the war? Read this book. Need proof that Ender was a teenager? Read this book.

Do you want the points of view that you have missing? READ. THIS. BOOK.

I may be exaggerating a little, but I really do love this book so far. Ender working in politics instead of military is an interesting change. Ender and Alessandra’s relationship is fun and funny to read. The best part about it, I think, is that neither of them knows exactly what they feel or what they’re doing. Ender is, for the first time, confused, and it’s enjoyable to read.

But the real jackpot is the wide range of points of view. We read from the point of view of Ender, Valentine, Sel Menach, Alessandra…the first pages are in the point of view of Mr. and Mrs. Wiggin!

And, as I said in this post after I read Ender’s Game, I really wanted to know more of Peter’s point of view. And, I (sort of) got it! Peter has a short piece at the beginning of the novel, and part ways through he sends an email to Valentine. It’s not as much as I wanted, but it’s definitely more than before.

The difficulty with this book is that time is passing much more slowly for the protagonist. The email sent by Peter is when he’s a grown man, regretting his previous actions and missing his sister. Valentine does well in noting that Peter is in a similar mind set to Hitler or Stalin. It’s a little more insight than I had before, and I’m happy for it.

Writing this sometimes feels as if I’m talking to you like old times. But at this moment it’s a painful reminder that it’s nothing like talking to you at all.                                                       -(Peter Wiggin) Orson Scott Card, Ender in Exile

Make the story even longer with a comment:

