Tag

Liebster Award!

Liebster – German for beloved, sweetest, kindest…you get the idea

Starting with the biggest “AW, THANK YOU!” to ravenclawsam, an awesome blogger who you should check out right now.

The Liebster Award is like a chain email, promoting other bloggers who have less than 200 followers. The rules change from post to post that I’ve googled, so the rules will be sort of fluid:

1. Thank the person who nominated you and post a link of their blog on your blog. See above. DFTBA ravenclawsam, DFTBA

2. Display the award on your blog:

liebster23. Answer the questions that you are asked by the person who nominated you:

I. Tell me your blogging story (how it started, why you did it, how different is it from what you thought it’d be, in a good way or bad way etc. Basically I’m giving you space to ramble on about your blog. In fact, throw in the link to your favourite post by yourself as a bonus).

So I started blogging in September 2013 for a secret organization. The goal is to understand the internet for world domination. My assignments have been many and diverse:  the virus that randomly attaches itself to viral videos, the nature of rick rolling, the importance of memes, and the significance of cats.

Just kidding. I did start a blog in September 2013, but as part of an assignment for my English Literature class. We were assigned to write 10 blog posts on the readings. Being a science major, I decided to take advantage of the blog to reach out to readers and work on my writing, both of which decreased significantly after starting university. Soon I started writing about all sorts of things: books, Nerdfighters, Starkid, the injustice of handymen who stand you up. And as per the suggestion, my favourite post explains the title of the blog, a personal attempt that explains the nature of writing.

Oddly enough, the most popular post is a soundtrack I came up with for Rick Riordan’s House of Hades. Even odder was the community of people I came to and am still trying to understand. I found bloggers like Jon Negroni wrote invented the Pixar Theory, I Like Reading On Trains, and one person who became a nerdfighter almost in sync with me (I wonder who…)

II. What is your idea of heaven? (All you atheists: don’t wriggle out of this one- tell me something!)

I believe in heaven. And I believe each person has their own personal version of heaven, an idea I came up with after reading The Lovely Bones. Each person’s version of heaven is different (i.e. I’d see my grandpa as I know him, but in his heaven he would be in his prime), and changes to fit in whatever the person wanted.  I’m not sure what would be there, but I guess it would change as my mind did.

When I was little I thought heaven was all clouds, and God had a golden cloud that he lived on that we could visit whenever we wanted. It was in the centre of everything. And when you died you would ascend with your own personal cloud waiting for you. You never needed to eat or drink, or sleep, unless you wanted to. And for some reason we all still had our corporeal bodies.

My imagination as a kid was kind of strange.

III. What, according to you, is the future of books?

Storytelling has always and will always be the most important form of communication between humans. And books will always be part of that. Sure, there are eBooks, (which may take over the bound books like the robots in iRobot), but reading will always be a thing. Words on pages never die…and so books will never die.

IV. If you could change one thing about your country/ society in general, what would it be?

Such an important question! I would want to change the education system. It sucks that education varies from place to place and how much money a student(‘s parents) has. Education is so important, honing skills like critical thinking, creativity, independence, time management. Kids often pass that up as stuff that “I will never need” because it comes in the form of math or physics, or dates from history. Ideally, students would have a teacher who could teach them in a way that works best for them, presenting the material in an inspiring way at the pace that keeps them interested, but not overwhelmed. Arguably, that means a private teacher per person, but if we could really approximate that, that would be amazing.

V. Your one big regret.

Wow. Stuff is about to get dark. In truth, I have a lot of regrets, and while the biggest regret of all may possibly be that I have regrets in the first place, that seems like a cop-out.

But I think the biggest regret that makes me regret regrets (try saying that 5 times fast!) was the inability to move when movement was called for.

And that’s all I’m going to say.

VI. What inspires you to write?

Another big question! I have always been fascinated with storytelling. According to my mother, I begged her to read books to me repeatedly as a little kid. When I actually started thinking up fictional stories for myself, I discovered that the number one writing tip is reading. So I read more. I found stories that inspired me, and made me go, “Hey, I want to be able to write something as awesome as that.” Reading inspires me to write, and writing inspires me to read. It’s  beautiful cycle, really.

VII. Your favourite authors (I’m not limiting you in any way- list as many as you want)

Ah, an improvement on the “what’s your favourite book” question. I like it…but the list will be long.

My childhood heroes include: Dr. Seuss, Shel Silverstein, Stan and Jan Berenstein, and Marc Brown

My series writers include: JK Rowling, Rick Riordan, Scott Westerfeld, Alison Croggon,  Suzanne Collins, Orson Scott Card, George R. R Martin

My other-teen-fiction-that-wasn’t-mentioned-above includes: John Green, Kenneth Oppel, Gail Carson Levine

And the rest because I can’t think of proper categories anymore: Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, Shakespeare (playwrights count), Mary Shelley

I know there are more…but I’m drawing a blank!

VIII. Tell me 3 really funny jokes (Not a question- just making provisions in case the rest of your blog bores me- Haha! I am kidding!)

Can I get Hank Green to do it for me?

19-22 are personal favourites of mine.

IX. What would be the title of your autobiography?

Of Green Hands, Riding Down Staircases, And Other Things That Make My Life Sound More Interesting Than It Actually Was

X. What do you think is the Ultimate Question to The Life, Universe and Everything?

“It’s time to get up already?”

X.2 Why did the chicken cross the road?

Never mind. That, right there, is the Ultimate Question to Life, The Universe and Everything.

I believe the answer is: to get there before the egg does.

4. Tell some random facts yourself.

How random is random? Do you want random that is just obscure facts:

  • I have a birthday that makes it that half the astrologists think I’m Libra, and the other half think I’m Scorpio.
  • I love dark chocolate. And then white chocolate (even though it’s not chocolate…)
  • I will try almost any kind of food.
  • I like to knit.
  • I play guitar and ukelele. (And, sort of sing.)
  • Spoolagloop
    A Spoolagloop…in all its alien glory!

Or random that will make the readers think I’m insane:

  • I have been told I laugh in my sleep.
  • My friend and I had an assignment to design a creature that could survive on Jupiter. We called it a Spoolagloop and turns out, researchers had designed a similar looking organism…you know, minus the cartoon eyes 
  • Once, my hand turned green.

 

5. Nominate 10 bloggers for the Liebster Award (who have less than 200 followers)

  1. Chapter by Chapter – some of the funniest in medias res comments you will ever read!
  2. Lynette Noni – fellow Disney lover and book blogger
  3. arianrhod123 – great book blogger who proves you can love a book by its cover
  4. James Voigt – a blogger who always reminds me to trust in my beliefs
  5.  – another amazing book blogger!
  6. The Awesome Runner – a blogger/runner who deserves more followers
  7. Christine – Yet another great book blogger!
  8. twistedspintre – a blogger whose posts make my day
  9. Atifa – who’s book shelf is amazing
  10. ravenclawsam – because I think a nominee should be allowed to nominate the person who nominated them

6. Ask 10 questions to the bloggers you nominate.

Oooo…my turn to ask questions!

  1. Why do you love to write?
  2. Describe a perfect day.
  3. What is your favourite song and why?
  4. What is your dream job?
  5. Fiction or non-fiction?
  6. Most hated slang word/phrase/acronym?
  7. What do you do to relax?
  8. What/who inspires you?
  9. Favourite quote?
  10. 3 lies and 1 truth?

7. Post these rules on your blog

Refer to anything in bold.

8. Inform the people/blogs that you nominated that they have been nominated for the Liebster award and provide a link for them to your post so that they can learn about it.

Once this is published, the chosen ten, you shall have access. Comment below so I know you’ve found the post…and again with a link to your own post if you plan to continue the chain. Congrats on the nomination!

Well this post has been long enough! Have a good day!

4 thoughts on “Liebster Award!”

  1. THAT is one of my most favorite Hank videos- you couldn’t possibly have known!! Could you?
    Number 2 is my most favorite one- and the way he says those pick up lines- OMG!
    So… thanks for nominating me! I’ll answer your questions too, I guess.

    You are born on the 22nd of October????

    Your answer about change in society is almost exactly like mine- I’d like one more thing and that is, letting kids do their thing- like, not forcing them to study all the subjects, but rather letting them choose their own. Sure, they could learn each and then change whenever they felt like.

    I liked the name of your autobiography, really wish to know the ‘green hand’ thing : E-mail me!
    Did I miss something? Oh yeah, I don’t believe you started blogging a bit after me!! I always assumed you were doing it for a long time before I even got here.

    Like

    1. Haha nope, I just started recently. Very close on the birthday. 😉 I agree with your idea about education, and yup, info on the green hand will be revealed…

      Like

    2. The latter. And you don;t have to answer my questions, I just thought you should be nominated 🙂 (And maybe I couldn’t think of another blogger…)

      Like

Make the story even longer with a comment:

