A New Year, A New Look, and New…(Resolutions?)

2014-happy-new-year-celebration-graphicHAPPY NEW YEAR!

The first of anything in a new year always seems to have its own gravity. My brother made a point to announce the first of everything he’d done in 2014 for the first half-hour of it, which included everything from video games to a drinking a glass of water.

As far as this blog goes, all the weight will be placed on this post. (Hence the word “new” three times in the title.)

First things first: Happy New Year!

Refer to image above.

Next: New Look. 

So a lot of people say their resolution is to lose weight in the New Year. As for as this blog is concerned, it just got a makeover with a new theme, header and background. (Ones that I am happy with.)

When I first made this blog I didn’t have mush time to choose how I wanted it to look. But since I’ve been on vacation I’ve been playing around for a bit. I’m still not totally satisfied with the background, but eventually I’ll figure it out.

And finally: New…Well I’m not sure what to call them.

In fact, I’m not even sure they’re new.

As mentioned beforehand, people make resolutions for the New Year. I…don’t. Or, rather, I don’t see the point. What is significant about a new year that prompts a change? Anyways, I don’t really have resolutions this year. It’s more of a…hmmm. A checklist? Sure. Let’s call it that.

Things to Do in 2014 (That have a good chance to be mentioned on this blog)

  1. Better understand what I want to do with my degree
  2. Read more
  3. Write more

And that’s it. And as with most resolutions…yeah, I made similar ones in 2012, which were pretty much the same ones in 2011, which were actually really made in 2010.

Despite the sarcasm, I do hope to work on these three things, among others (that have nothing to do with this blog, and therefore will not be mentioned).

Happy New Year, Internet! And hopefully 2014 is an amazing year for you.

“For last year’s words belong to last year’s language
And next year’s words await another voice.
And to make an end is to make a beginning.”
― T.S. Eliot

Make the story even longer with a comment:

