Books

The House Of Hades: The Soundtrack

So I recently finished the latest book in the Heroes of Olympus Series by Rick Riordan, The House of Hades in less than 48 hours.

the-heroes-of-olympus-the-book-four-house-of-hades_12354_500

And as much as I want to post a review about it, I’ve decided to postpone it. Why? Because as a countdown for the last book, The Blood of Olympus, I plan on rereading and reviewing the entire series…starting with The Lightning Thief.

But it feels wrong to completely disregard the book altogether because it was AMAZING.

Short story long, much like my Tempest Track, I’ve created a soundtrack for The House of Hades, commentary included.

And before you proceed, please note the sign on the side of the road that reads, “Here be spoilers.” Thank you.

And now, onto the soundtrack.

Something I Need by OneRepublic

You’ve got something I need
In this world full of people
There’s one killing me
And if we only die once
I wanna die with you

This song is perfect for every single couple in this book, particularly Annabeth and Percy. Each pairing has been through so much with one another, I don’t think they could ever break up and forget it all. Especially Tartarus. That Percy and Annabeth wander through it alone just shows how much they need to stay together. Certain lines just scream PERCABETH in big letters. For example,

And I had the week that came from hell
And yes I know that you could tell
But you’re like the net under the ledge
Whether I go flying off the edge
You go flying off aswell
And if you only die once
I wanna die with [you]

Jeez Riordan. While Tartarus was the best landscape I have ever read in any of his books, basically throwing them down there and then having the readers wait a year was a terrible marketing trick. He even had the nerve to make this the dedication:

What a troll.
What a troll.

Viva la Vida by Coldplay

I hear Jerusalem bells are ringing
Roman Cavalry choirs are singing
Be my mirror, my sword and shield
My missionaries in a foreign field
For some reason I can’t explain
Once you go there was never
Never an honest word
And that was when I ruled the world

Viva la Vida seemed like the best song for Jason’s predicament in the novel: he’s terribly conflicted between being a leader by the Roman standards and the Greek standards. He’s surprisingly radical, and when he relinquishes his praetorship to Frank, I kind of felt bad for him, despite it being the best decision for both of them.

Show me What I’m Looking For by Carolina Liar

Save me, I’m lost
Oh lord, I’ve been waiting for you
I’ll pay any cost
Save me from being confused
Show me what I’m looking for

This song is for Bob/Iapetus. He’s so confused because Percy dunked him in the Lethe a year or so ago, and he’s trying to figure out who he is. I love how Percy allows him to make his own decisions about who he wants to be, versus Annabeth who believes brainwashing is the only way to keep Bob on their side. Plus, he always wanted to see the stars, which could be what he’s looking for…

Demons by Imagine Dragons

I wanna hide the truth
I wanna shelter you
But with the beast inside
There’s nowhere we can hide

This one is for Percy’s darker side that is revealed during his time in Tartarus. It’s for how we find out how fatal his fatal flaw is. When he’s trying to protect someone he loves, he loses control, and learning this really made me understand his character a lot better.

Radioactive by Imagine Dragons

I’m waking up
I feel it in my bones
Enough to make my systems glow
Welcome to the new age

…of Frank Zhang. Frank’s character development is astounding on multiple levels, and I love it. He’s come into his inner Roman solider–and now has the body to match due to the blessing of Mars. He’s even praetor now! Oh, Frank, the fandom is proud of you.

Same Love by Macklemore, Ryan Lewis, and Mary Lambert

And I can’t change
Even if I’ve tried
Even if I wanted to

Oh Nico, you poor boy. (I am not going to get into all the details here because 1. the song pretty much gives it away, b. I could make a whole rant about the controversy and how people are boycotting the series now, and blue. I’m not really sure Nico is truly in love with Percy…maybe he’s just confused?–again, expect a rant in the near future.) The sad part about him is, he does wish he could change, but Jason keeps trying to tell him that it is okay. However, he refuses to consider that he could be accepted, as long as he can find the courage to accept himself. (I could fill an 8GB iPod with a soundtrack on Nico but I’m restraining myself.)

Beautiful Flower by India Arie

Now we’re moving from the darkness into the light
This is the defining moment of our lives
‘Cause you’re beautiful like a flower
More valuable than a diamond
You are powerful like a fire
You can heal the world with your mind
There is nothing in the world that you cannot do
When you believe in you

This is for Hazel and Piper, who grow exponentially more awesome in this book. Both girls develop their skills, Mist and charmspeak respectively, while still kicking monster butt via wicked sharp sword with the boys. Despite initially wanting a upbeat song, these two are particularly innocent and self-reflective, and the soothing melody works for that. Piper is always worried that she can’t do anything, and Hazel feels like a ghost because….well, she came back from the dead after all. I like the references to beauty and diamonds, as their parents are Aphrodite and Pluto.

One and Only by Adele

So I dare you to let me be your, your one and only
I promise I’m worthy to hold in your arms
So come on and give me the chance
To prove I am the one who can
Walk that mile
Until the end starts

This song was especially chosen for Leo and Calypso’s relationship in the novel. Calypso has a past with heroes that are the complete opposite of Leo in appearance, and she has to look past that to fall in love with him. *coughpercyiswithannabethdealwithitcough* Leo, being Leo, is basically already in love with her, even though he thinks she’s initially annoying. What works best is that the speaker is convincing a relationship into being, as both Leo and Calypso deny their feelings for each other. (And maybe the end refers to the end of her isolation at Ogygia?)

A Song of Storm and Fire by Yuki Kajiura

This song is from the anime Tsubasa Reservoir Chronicle, and whenever it played, you knew something epic was about to happen, whether it was a big reveal, or an intense fight. And while it does have lyrics…well, they don’t really make any sense because they’re written in a made up language (NOT Japanese). It fits perfectly with the final battle against Clytius. It’s epic, it’s desperate, at times its romantic. I find the soft break in the middle matches Percy and Annabeth emerging from the doors to the (relative) safety of their friends.

So that’s the soundtrack. What do you think? If you have other songs in mind, feel free to mention them!

 

Make the story even longer with a comment:

